Nutrition Challenge: Day 1

Standard

Super bowl Sunday was an epic day of eating. Not just for me, but for almost all of my friends in Auburn. Monday marked the beginning of the Nutrition Challenge, so everyone got in their last bit of binge eating and drinking on Sunday. I personally am embarrassed to admit how much chocolate I consumed between 8 am and 10 pm on Sunday, so I’m not going to divulge that information. However, I will say it was on chocolate covered strawberries decorated like footballs, and Valentines chocolates Trent bought me during a “drunk” grocery store trip Saturday night. Now it’s Tuesday and all I have left are memories of a time when chocolate covered strawberries, decorated like little footballs, were on their way to my mouth! Soooo, let’s move on to things I can eat!

Last night I made my own version of Everyday Paleo’s Mulligatawny Soup and her Tuna Stuffed Eggs. Most of my recipes come from someone else and then I just make them more tailored to my taste, region, fridge, and budget! Both of these are great recipes for the Nutrition Challenge.

My Spin on Everyday Paleo’s Spin on Mulligatawny Soup:

1 lb grass fed ground beef

1 small yellow onion, diced

1/2 lb carrots, chopped

2 apples, peeled, cored, and diced

3 leeks, halved, and sliced (make sure you clean these guys really well)

3 medium turnip roots, peeled and chopped

3 tablespoons dried parsley

1 tablespoon curry powder

¼ teaspoon nutmeg

1 teaspoon ground mustard

¼ teaspoon ground cloves

1 tablespoon cinnamon

4 cups organic chicken stock

1 cup Almond Breeze Almondmilk Coconutmilk Blend (Or just use coconut milk)

2 tablespoons coconut oil

Sea salt and black pepper to taste

In a large soup pot, heat the coconut oil over medium heat.  Add the onions and leeks and sauté for 4-5 minutes.  Add the rest of the veggies except the parsley and sauté for another 7-8 minutes.  While the veggies are cooking, brown the ground beef in a separate skillet.  Once the meat is browned, add to the soup pot and mix in with the veggies.  Add the parsley and all the dry spices and mix well.  Add the chicken stock and coconut milk, bring to a simmer and cook for 1 hour.

My version of Tuna Stuffed Eggs

6 hard-boiled eggs

1 tablespoon mayo

1 tablespoon Dijon or yellow mustard

1 5oz can of tuna

Chopped pickles or jalapenos (optional)

1 teaspoon pepper

Peel the eggs and slice them in half (length wise). Take the yolks out of each half and put them in a small bowl. Add mayo, pepper, and mustard to the yolks. Mix all the ingredients in the bowl well. Stir in a can of tuna. Spoon the mixture into the hollowed out egg halves and enjoy.

More Nutrition Challenge recipes to come!

♥ Tyler!

Leave a Reply

