Scuola del Cuoio

Standard

I haven’t talked about it with a lot of people, but my grandmother passed away in early November. I truly could never fully express how much she meant to me. I’ve thought about posting the eulogy I wrote for her funeral, and I will when the time is right, but for now I’ll just give you a little insight into my slightly more humorous response to her death.

First let me make something clear: I am not a nic nac person; I do not collect things; I do not enjoy clutter. My grandmother however over the years accumulated a lot of cool “crap”. She was an artist, world traveler, and loved to order stuff out of catalogs. When she passed away most of her stuff was donated or given to family and friends, but not before I had the heart breaking (yet entertaining) task of combing through her many things. That experience was full of many tears and laughter. I don’t handle loss the greatest, and I tend to hold a lot of emotions to myself. However this time, my denial for the lost of my grandmother presented itself in a weird sentimental “hording” of sorts. If asked whether I wanted something of hers I pretty much just said, “YES!!”. I didn’t realize it at the time, but I was saying yes to a lot of stuff I didn’t really want. Now that my head has cleared I have found new homes for some of the things I collected, and its very entertaining to make fun of some of the things I actually took from her house. Anyway I did manage to inherited a lot of cool jewelry. One of the things I was given was this neat little leather bracelet. It had an in graving in the inside, Scuola del Cuoio, Firenze.

The city of Auburn, AL is under a tornado warning today. It’s raining cats and dogs outside, so I decided to look up the engraving of this bracelet to see if I could find any in site into where it might be from. Heres what I found out. One, its made of python! Two, it’s from a really cool place called Scuola del Cuoio. So here is a little history lesson for you…

Scuola del Cuoio was created after World War II through the collaborative efforts of the Franciscan friars of the Monastery of Santa Croce and the Gori and Casini families, Florentine leather artisans since the 1930’s. Their mission was to give orphans of the war a means to learn a practical trade with which to earn a living. The Basilica of Santa Croce is the burial-place of some of the most illustrious Italians, such as Michelangelo, Galileo, Machiavelli, Foscolo, Gentile and Rossini, thus it is known also as the Temple of the Italian Glories.

There you have it ladies and gentlemen. I inherited a 13$ Python bracelet from Florence, Italy! I can just imagine my grandmother, in Florence, selecting the little souvenir that I now wear on my wrist. Thank god for rainy day fun, and sentimental hording!

♥ Tyler!

4 responses »

  1. That is really cool. When I saw the picture I regonized the bracelet. I went looking through my stuff and found the same bracelet in red. Now we both have one which is neat to me. The info you found out was interesting too. We both got some neat stuff from a neat women. She is dearly missed and kept close at heart. Love you.

  2. I came across your blog while googling the same bracelet that I received from my gramdmother! She will be 90 at the end of this month and recently moved and in the process cleared out a lot of her “stuff”. I in turn received a bunch of costume jewellery, most of which I will never wear but thought this bracelet was sort of cute. I, like you, will wear it proudly 🙂

    • Karla, that is really cool! Tell your grandmother happy birthday for me! My grandmother would have been 87 on March 12th. Is yours brown too? After posting this blog my mother found another of the same bracelet in red. She said my grandmother must have given it to her years ago and she just never knew where it came from.

  3. I got my bracelet from a thrift store. Mine is black. I just thought it was cute, but got curious about the inscription. The company said to send them a pic of my bracelet and they would tell me if it was theirs. They haven’t answered yet, but after reading this blog, I am sure it is the same. I wonder if some of them are leather, or are they all python?

Leave a Reply

